Lancer Evo IX Wins Showroom Class
in Targa Tasmania


Peter Brown and Nicole Locker 
driving the Mitsubishi Lancer 
Evolution IX to showroom car 
class success in Targa Tasmania
Peter Brown and Nicole Locker driving the Mitsubishi Lancer
Evolution IX to showroom car class success in Targa Tasmania

To advertise
on this page,
contact us
by e-mail
from here.

2nd May, 2006

A Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX has won the showroom car class at Australia's premier tarmac rally, Targa Tasmania.

The Evo IX, driven by Peter Brown and Nicole Locker from Bateau Bay on the Central Coast of New South Wales, also finished 15th outright in a field of almost 250 cars.

The couple bought the all-wheel-drive, turbocharged 2-litre Evo IX from Mitsubishi Ralliart at Dandenong in Melbourne for about $40,000 and spent another $25,000 on having it fitted for competition, including a roll cage.

"But it was still an unmodified car up against lots of very highly modified machines," Brown said.

"We had standard brakes, wheels, exhaust, etc."

"We're pretty chuffed to have won the showroom class in such a prestigious event and finished 15th outright in a field that had had a host of Porsches and Lamborghinis, some of which would have cost their owners $500,000."

Brown said the Heaphy-led Ralliart had been "immensely helpful" to them since they bought the Evo IX, particularly during the rally.

Heaphy was delighted to see a Ralliart customer do so well for modest cost in what has become an internationally-renowned event over the past 15 years.

Heaphy said it was "really important that people who want to do motor sport can do it in an affordable way and have enjoyment and success, as Peter and Nic have".

A similar Evo IX was driven in the rally by former grand prix motorcycle, Daryl Beattie, who set some impressive stage times with his co-driver Scott Young, but crashed down an embankment.

Malcolm Klopp and Damian Pearce of South Australia finished the 2,100 km rally, which had 45 competitive stages comprising 450 km, in a GSR-model Evo IX bought from an Adelaide dealer, but Dean Evans and Justin Doney from NSW crashed the fourth customer Evo IX in the event.

Team Mitsubishi Ralliart's own Evo IX, built to the new tarmac rally regulations and driven by Warwick Rooklyn and Linda Long, ran among the top three cars for much of the rally but finished sixth after a mandatory four-minute penalty when two tyres had to be changed before the final leg.

While Peter Brown runs the Budget car rental franchise on the Central Coast and in western Sydney and is a keen rally driver, he is also a passionate motorcycle racer.

In 2000 and 2002 he won BEARS championships for Australian riders of British, European and American bikes.

"I love racing motorbikes, but the great thing about a car rally like Targa Tasmania is that Nic and I can do it together," Brown said.

"She calls directions to me from very detailed pace notes, which help my driving immeasurably."

The couple also did well in the now-defunct East Coast Targa, finishing fourth in 2004, but Tasmania has become a rallying "home" for them, as they compete in two other events a year there.

Other Mitsubishi news: here.

The Top Drive of 2005!
OF 2005!

Review content by Marque/Manufacturer:

Aixam  Alfa Romeo  Aston Martin  Audi  Bentley  BMW  Cadillac  Caterham  Chevrolet  Chrysler  Citroen  Dacia  Daewoo  Dodge  Elfin  Ferrari  Fiat  Ford  General Motors  Holden  Honda  Hummer  Jaguar  Jeep  Kia  Lamborghini  Land Rover  Lotus  Maserati  Maybach  Mazda  Mercedes-Benz  MG  Mini  Mitsubishi  Morgan  Nissan  Noble  Opel  Pagani  Peugeot  Pontiac  Porsche  Proton  Renault  Rolls Royce  Rover  Saab  Saturn  Seat  Skoda  Smart  Subaru  Suzuki  Vauxhall  Volkswagen  Volvo 

Other news:

Antonov  Caparo  Connaught  FPV  Freestream  HSV  Jayco  Tempest 

Receive an automotive news summary periodically and more by e-mail,
SUBSCRIBE to our free newsletter here.
Simply send a blank e-mail to lodge your subscription.

Click the logo for our home page

E-mail Next Car Pty Ltd

Next Car Pty Ltd   (ABN 47106248033)
Copyright 2006. All rights reserved.